Thanksgiving

It is good to remember that we have much to be thankful for.  This year I am especially thankful.

I am thankful that my thesis is almost done.  While I have enjoyed my time at Berkeley, it feels good to finish.  I have learned a lot, not just about the stuff in my thesis, but about people and myself.  And hopefully I helped some people through my teaching.

I am thankful for the friends I have made here, many of whom have graduated before me and those still here.  I am thankful that people still think of me even when we no longer run into each other at practice.  I am thankful for ballroom, even if I never compete again, because it has brought me the team, friends, and the joy of dancing.

I am thankful to V for keeping me sane.  I am thankful to friends who game with me, because they also keep me sane.  I am thankful to E for a brief amour, even if it didn’t work out.

I am thankful for a near future when I have graduated and will have a job.  While I cannot visit Texas this holiday season (not Thanksgiving because I’m writing my thesis and not this winter because I need to find a job), I look forward to a time when I can take the time to see my nieces.  I am thankful that my mother is getting better.  I am thankful that no serious medical issue befell me this year.

It is good to remember what we are thankful for because it is good to remember what is really important in our lives.

One thought on “Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

