In miniature

I’m thinking of getting some miniatures, mainly because, though I still prefer good mechanics over good components, I have started to appreciate the visceral aspect that some components bring to games.  To that end, I’m thinking of getting two intro fleets from Ground Zero Games.  (Or I could just buy Battleship Galaxies…)

Edit: I realized I don’t have to limit myself to the original 4 human factions. So vote for your favorite fleets!

ESU

The theme here seems to be fanged head with wings.  Some of these remind me of Klingon ship designs.

 

FSE

The theme here seems to be triangular body with aft wing-like/thruster section.  They remind me of Narn ships from Bab5.

IF

Unfortunately, not many pictures are available.  The theme seems to be a sword with a curved guard.

KV

Another one without that many pics.  The theme seems to be large gun arms with a long-necked head.

NAC 

The theme here seems to be teardrop head with nacelles.  They conjure up images of Firefly or Y-wings.

 

NI

The theme here seems to be the traditional fighter plane look.

NSL

For some reason, these remind of some sort of futuristic gun.

 

OUDF

The theme here seems to be a flat box with bits sticking out.


Phalon

The theme here seems to be a slug/snail.

SF

The theme reminds me of a naval gunship: a flat foredeck with a bridge.

SV

The theme here seems to be  like a sea animal with spines.


Which brings us to the point of this post, besides gawking at spaceships.  Please ignore the fact that some pictures are in color, which may bias results.  Look at the shape and detail on the ships.

Thanks.

Leave a Reply

